Sharing is caring

Over the course of this semester, my social media class has been learning all about the ins and outs of our second screen. 

By the time May rolls around, and finals are complete, I am confident that my class will be able to call our selves social media gurus (Thank you, Dr. Zuegner!) and we will be able to share our knowledge with the less-knowledgable.  It is amazing how quickly social media changes from month to month, and what an impact it has had on our world over the past 5, 6, 7 years.  Since taking on this social media guru role, I have found some trends amongst my generation in particular on their Facebooks, Twitters, etc.  

What have I noticed that’s so trendy?  Sharing things that will make people’s day.  Things that make them think, make them smile, and just plain make them in a better mood.  I may be the only one that is getting this vibe, but people are sharing great things, and it is awesome.  I have seen everything shared from random acts of kindness that people do on a daily basis, to acceptance letters and new jobs, to engagements, to “I miss you” notes, to sharing links that are honestly just adorable (like this little boy that naps with his puppy every day!)  

I am a firm believer that jealousy is an ugly, ugly trait, however, it seems as though when people share happy, positive things, on their social media accounts, others are supportive, and praise them for a job well done for whatever the case may be.  As a 21-year-old, I have friends that are starting to get engaged, graduate from college, and take on “big kid” jobs.  These are some of the moments in our lives that we look forward to, and it’s interesting that rather than just calling up Mom and Dad to say “Hey! I’m engaged”  one of the first instincts we have is to snap a photo of the sparkly rock on your left hand and post it to for the social media world to congratulate you.  Social media has become a part of sharing these “big moments” in life.  Some may disagree, but I think it’s pretty cool.  For family and friends that don’t live close enough to always be present to share these moments with you, they can catch a glimpse of it through social media.  Here’s a glimpse at some of my favorite things I’ve seen, and a moment of my own from about a month ago!

Image Image

 

ImageImageImageImage

 

I think sharing these types of things are important.  It allows you to be praised positively, and allows others to be inspired to do similar acts.  Jeff Haden from inc.com says that there are 14 different ways of sharing your story that you’re not already using.  There is a time and place for everything- even on social media- and this article explains when the best times to share exciting news with the social media world are.  

Next time an exciting moment of your life happens- don’t hesitate to share it with the rest of the world, and never be ashamed of your successes.  Life is filled with little moments, make people happy by sharing them, I guarantee it will at least make one person smile. 

Leave a Reply

