See you later, JMC.

Well, this is it.

 My final blog post of my undergraduate career.  Scratch that.  Final “anything that has to do with school” of my undergraduate career.

It’s hard to believe that 1,355 days ago I moved into my first residence hall as a terrified freshmen.  And in 10 short days I will be graduating from the place that has been my home for the past 4 years.

Throughout this semester, I have felt everything your typical second-semester-senior does:  happy, scared, excited, nervous, nostalgic, hopeful, and stressed.  But, I’ve also taken the time to reflect to see how far I’ve come as a student, and grown as person.   Thanks to you, Creighton Journalism Department, I now am proud and feel ready to take on the next chapter of my life.

11212709_10205471979697181_6163624571139326729_o

Thanks JMC for introducing me to some of my best friends.

Specifically this semester, I feel that I have grown and gained the knowledge necessary to become an entrepreneur.  Our class has heard the stories from many local entrepreneurs– from freelance independent contractors, to Hear Nebraska, and the Blue and White Review.  Having a variety of speakers that have real experience in this field is what I appreciated the most and loved the most about this class.  It was great being able to come to JRM599 and listen to a different entrepreneur and his or her story, experience, advice, etc. each week.  There wasn’t anything in particular that I didn’t care for in this class, however, I had a love/hate relationship with the elevator pitch.  Looking back though, I believe that the elevator pitches were one of the most useful things that JRM599 brought to our class as that made us step outside of our comfort zone and realize that we have to be ready to sell a product (or ourselves) at any place and at any time.

My top three take aways from JRM599: Entrepreneurial Media I feel can go for any field, but will most certainly come to use should I ever find myself in the midst of creating a startup some day.

1.) Follow your passion.  Whatever it is.  Know it, stick with it, and love it.  Passion was the one word that came up over and over and over again from each of our speakers.  Passion works because if you know it is something you’ll never get tired of, you won’t give up on pursuing something.

2.) Understanding that things are constantly changing.  Whether that is with technology, style, or yourself.  Change is good, but you have to be ready to roll with it.  Anticipating that anything will and can happen will serve well in the future.

3.) Have a mentor.  Or 5.  People that you can look to when you’re stuck on developing an idea, need advice, need to vent, whatever stage you’re at.  People that you trust, and are trusting of you in return.  Professors, professionals in the field work great.  Many of our speakers also suggested building your network through local organizations such as AIGA, AAF Omaha, PRSA, etc.  Building those strong relationships early on is important because those people will be there to help you when you ask for it.

Although my days as a Creighton University Journalism student are coming to a close, I know that the network–the family– I have built here will be by my side for the rest of my life.  I am eternally grateful for the past 4 years and these classes constantly pushing me to be more, and be successful.   I have found over the past few days that while it will be difficult to say “see you later”, I am beyond lucky to have something that is going be difficult to leave behind.  I’m looking forward to my future endeavors, and watching the future of this department grow and change the lives of future journalism students.

To the future students of the Creighton JMC department:  you have no idea how lucky you are.  To the current students and faculty of the Creighton JMC department:  you have no idea how lucky I am to have you.  Thank you for everything.

11162455_10206657848467492_5301485477686799307_n

Creighton University Journalism, Media & Computing senior class of 2015

Leave a Reply

